U.S. District Court - Southern Ohio District

The United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio serves over 5 million citizens in 48 of the 88 counties in Ohio. The Eastern Division sits at Columbus, and the Western Division at Cincinnati and Dayton.

The seat of court at COLUMBUS serves Athens, Belmont, Coschocton, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Gallia, Guernsey, Harrison, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Licking, Logan, Madison, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Ross, Union, Vinton, and Washington counties.

The seat of court at CINCINNATI serves Adams, Brown, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton, Highland, Lawrence, Scioto, and Warren counties.

The seat of court at DAYTON serves Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, and Shelby counties.

$201,112 yearly
U.S. District Court - Southern Ohio District
Mar 08, 2021
Full time
The duties of the position are demanding and wide-ranging and will include: (1) conducting most preliminary and pretrial proceedings in criminal cases; (2) trial and disposition of misdemeanor cases; (3) conducting various pretrial matters and evidentiary proceedings in civil cases; and (4) trial and disposition of civil cases upon consent of the litigants.  The basic jurisdiction of a United States Magistrate Judge is specified in 28 U.S.C. § 636.